On-Demand Webinar “Where Do You Draw the Line?”
Ethics Training for School District Officials – 2016 Edition
August 1 – December 31, 2016
The deadline for completion of this year’s mandated four (4) hour ethics training requirement for all Florida Constitutional Officers is December 31, 2016.To assist you in meeting this deadline with quality training, the Florida School Boards Association is offering two options:
Live-delivery session on Friday, December 2, 2016, in conjunction with the 71st Annual Joint Conference
- On-Demand Webinar (information and details below):
- REGISTRATION: to register for the On-Demand Webinar, click here
- DATE: at your convenience, through December 31, 2016
- TIME: at your convenience
- LOCATION: On-Demand Webinar, wherever internet access is available
- FACILITATORS: Experts in the fields of Florida law and ethics – Andrea Messina, Tina Pinkoson, Attorneys Ron Meyer and Leonard Dietzen
- COST: $155.00
- QUESTIONS: Contact Tina Pinkoson, 850.414.2578 (office), 352.870.8484 (cell)
FSBA’s Ethics Training Program is designed to meet the 4 hours of annual ethics training required of Florida School Board members. To meet the needs of all school board members and superintendents, FSBA offers both live-delivery and webinar format ethics training options. Updated annually after the legislative session to incorporate any changes, the live-delivery training is held in conjunction with the Annual Joint Conference held in December of each year while the on-demand webinar training is available late June through December 31 of each year.
S. 112.3142, F.S., requires all constitutional officers to complete 4 hours of ethics training annually that addresses, at a minimum, the constitutional “Sunshine Law” provisions (Article II, Section 8), the statutory Code of Ethics for Public Officers and Employees (Chapter 112, Part III, F.S.), and the public records and public meetings laws. Additionally, FSBA’s Ethics Training Program addresses conflicts of interest, doing business with one’s own agency, misuse of position, gifts and honoraria, financial disclosure, and much more.
Completers of either the live or the on-demand webinar training will receive a Certificate of Completion certifying that the participant has met the requirements of Florida’s annual four (4) hours of ethics training for constitutional officers as required by s. 112.3142 F.S.
Where Do You Draw The Line? Ethics Training for School District Officials 2016 Edition includes training in:
- Sunshine Law
- Public Records Law
- misuse of position
- financial disclosure requirements
- ethics complaints
- other ethics provisions.
This training also includes a question and answer session with the presenters.
The 2013 Florida Statutes
PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES: GENERAL PROVISIONS
112.3142 Ethics training for specified constitutional officers.—
(1) As used in this section, the term “constitutional officers” includes the Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, the Attorney General, the Chief Financial Officer, the Commissioner of Agriculture, state attorneys, public defenders, sheriffs, tax collectors, property appraisers, supervisors of elections, clerks of the circuit court, county commissioners, district school board members, and superintendents of schools.
(2)(a) All constitutional officers must complete 4 hours of ethics training annually that addresses, at a minimum, s. 8, Art. II of the State Constitution, the Code of Ethics for Public Officers and Employees, and the public records and public meetings laws of this state. This requirement may be satisfied by completion of a continuing legal education class or other continuing professional education class, seminar, or presentation if the required subjects are covered.
(b) The commission shall adopt rules establishing minimum course content for the portion of an ethics training class that addresses s. 8, Art. II of the State Constitution and the Code of Ethics for Public Officers and Employees.
(3) Each house of the Legislature shall provide for ethics training pursuant to its rules.
History.—s. 4, ch. 2013-36.
Click here to go to Online Sunshine to view all Florida statutes.