

School Board & Superintendent Elections & Composition

41 School Boards with All Members Elected At-Large

(Board members must reside in a specified district withing the county but are elected county-wide)

Alachua Gilchrist Levy Polk Baker Glades Liberty Putnam Bay Hardee Manatee* St. Lucie Calhoun Hernando Marion Santa Rosa Charlotte Highlands Martin Sarasota Citrus Holmes Monroe Seminole Indian River Clav Nassau Sumter Collier Union Jackson Okaloosa DeSoto Lafavette Okeechobee Wakulla Dixie Lake Pasco Walton

Flagler

(NOTE: Pursuant to a local referendum approved by Manatee voters in the 2018 General Election, Manatee school board elections will convert from at-large elections to single member district elections.)

21 School Boards with All Members Elected from Single Member Districts

(Board members must reside in a specified district within the county and are elected by those who live within the specified district)

Bradford Gulf Osceola Brevard Hamilton Palm Beach Columbia Hendry St. Johns Duval Jefferson Suwannee Escambia **Taylor** Leon Franklin Madison Volusia Gadsden Miami-Dade Washington

5 School Boards with Combination of Single Member District & At Large Elections

Broward 7 single member district seats; 2 at-large seats Hillsborough 5 single member district seats; 2 at-large seats Lee 5 single member district seats; 2 at-large seats

Orange 7 single member district seats; 1 at-large seat (board chair)

Pinellas 4 single member district seats; 3 at-large seats

Number of Members on Each Board

(Total = 358 school board members)

58 Boards with 5 members

- 6 Boards with 7 members (Duval, Hillsborough, Lee, Pinellas, Palm Beach, Polk)
- 1 Board with 8 members (Orange 7 board members, 1 board chairperson)
- 2 Boards with 9 members (Broward, Miami-Dade)

26 Appointed Superintendents

Alachua	Hernando	Monroe	St. Johns
Brevard	Hillsborough	Okeechobee	St. Lucie
Broward	Indian River	Orange	Sarasota
Charlotte	Lake	Osceola	Seminole
Collier	Lee	Palm Beach	Volusia
Duval	Manatee	Pinellas	

Miami-Dade

Flagler

41 Elected Superintendents

Polk

Baker	Gadsden	Jefferson	Pasco
Bay	Gilchrist	Lafayette	Putnam
Bradford	Glades	Leon	Santa Rosa
Calhoun	Gulf	Levy	Sumter
Citrus	Hamilton	Liberty	Suwannee
Clay	Hardee	Madison	Taylor
Columbia	Hendry	Marion*	Union
Desoto	Highlands	Martin*	Wakulla
Dixie	Holmes	Nassau	Walton
Escambia*	Jackson	Okaloosa	Washington
Franklin			

(NOTE: Pursuant to referenda approved by voters in Escambia, Marion, and Matin in the 2018 General Election ballot, the position of superintendent will be converted from an elected to an appointed position. The conversion to an appointed superintendent will be effective no later than 2020.)